Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Referencing: Print, Online & Media Resources: Print Journal Articles

E-journals & DOIs

E-books and electronic journal articles can contain a number which identifies them, called a DOI DOI logo(Digital Object Identifier). A DOI is a string of numbers, letters and symbols used to permanently identify an article or document and link to it on the web. A DOI will help your reader easily locate a document from your citation. It is like a PPS number for the article you’re citing — it will always refer to that article, and only that one (source: UIC). Picture source: Wiki

A DOI is not the same as an ISBN, but it does the same thing - it is a unique number assigned to a piece of work that allows you to find the work even if the work moves databases or websites, etc. The DOI is a hyperlink which can take you to the article in one click. 

If you know the DOI it is best to include it in your references/bibliography so that you know you're linking directly to the correct article, and to make it easy for the reader to check the source. 

 

 

APA Style

Reference: Author(s) Last name, Initials. (Year). Article title. Journal title, volume number(Issue number), page numbers.

Example: Lum, J. A. G., & Bleses, D. (2012). Declarative and procedural memory in Danish speaking children with specific language impairment. Journal of Communication Disorders, 45(1), 46-58.

In-Text-Citation:

  • Author(s) Last name (year)
  • (Author(s) Last name year)

Example:

  • Lum and Bleses (2012) took a different approach…
  • Another approach (Lum & Bleses, 2012) shows that…

Note: For journal articles only include the issue number when each issue is individually paginated.

Articles with multiple authors follow the same pattern. 

Source: UCD Library

Harvard Style

Reference: Author Last name, Initials. (Year) 'Article title', Journal Title, Volume(Issue), pp. page numbers.  

Example: Tovey, H. (2002) 'Risk, morality, and the sociology of animals - reflections of the foot and mouth outbreak in Ireland', Irish Journal of Sociology, 11(1), pp. 23-42.

In-Text-Citation:

  • Author(s) Last name (Year)
  • (Author(s) Last name, Year)

Example:

  • Tovey (2002) argues….
  • It has been argued (Tovey, 2002)….

Source: UCD Library

MHRA Style

There are two styles of MHRA referencing - footnotes/bibliography style and author/date style. This guide covers notes/bibliography style. For more information on both types of styles please see information here from the Univeristy of St. Andrews, and here from the MHRA style guide online. 

Right click + open image in new tab to see a larger version. 

Source: Swansea University

MLA Style

Reference: First author(s) Last name, First name and next author(s) First name Last name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. Volume, no., Year, pp. page range.

Example: Mann, Susan. "Myths of Asian Womanhood." Journal of Asian Studies, vol. 59, 2000, pp. 835-62. 

In-Text-Citation:

  • (Author(s) Last name Page no)
  • (Page no)

Example:

  • Another author (Mann 850) argues….
  • Mann (850) argues….

Source: UCD Library

Chicago Style - NOTE

Please note that there are two style of Chicago referencing: author/date style and notes/bibliography style. This guide covers notes/bibliography style. 

Chicago Style

In-Text Citation: Use a superscript number (like this: ¹) in the text at the place where you are indicating that you are citing from a source.

Footnote:  #. Author(s) First name Last name, “Title of Article,” Journal Title Volume, Issue no. (Year): Page.

Bibliography: Author(s) Last name, First name. “Title of Article.” Journal Title Volume, Issue no. (Year): pages.

Examples: 

In-Text Citation: According to Lanscombe, the first Australian health minister to mention global warming in a speech was Peter Baume in 1981.¹

Footnote: 1. Marcus Barber, “Global Warming and the Political Ecology of Health: Emerging Crises and Systemic Solutions,” The Australian Journal of Anthropology 21, no. 3 (2010): 390.

NOTE: When a source is referenced more than once on the same page a shortened form of footnote is used after the first reference, as seen below.

Second footnote: 2. Barber, "Global Warming", 390.

Bibliography: Barber, Marcus. “Global Warming and the Political Ecology of Health: Emerging Crises and Systemic Solutions.” The Australian Journal of Anthropology 21, no. 3 (2010): 390 – 391.

 

Source: UCD Library