Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Educational Resources (OERs): Finding OERs

Teaching Resources

Nation Forum for the Enhancement of Teaching & Learning in Higher Education has compiled a list of resources for teaching online and accessing materials for your students, which you can access here

MetaFinders

Search tools that make the cross-platform discovery of open content easier.

  1. Maryland Open Source Textbook Commons (MOST)
  2. Mason OER Metafinder
  3. OASIS

Source

Open Repositories

The sites listed below contain OERs that can be incorporated into your courses. This is not an exhaustive list and you are encouraged to look for sites that provide OERs for your subjects. This list contains databases, textbooks, and teaching resources. 

Boundless

Open textbooks and courses for top 25 college disciplines. Available in multiple formats for supporting browser or eReader access for low cost.

Directory of Open Access Journals

An online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Directory of Open Access Textbooks

Open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards.

MIT OpenCourseWare

A web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.

OER Commons

A worldwide learning network of shared teaching and learning materials made freely available online.

OpenStax

Free textbooks developed and peer-reviewed by educators to ensure they are readable, accurate, and meet the scope and sequence requirements of your course.

Open Textbook Network

Promotes access, affordability, and student success through the use of open access textbooks.

Saylor

Over 100 free openly licensed college level textbooks that have been peer reviewed. Many are available in PDF, Word, and HTML formats.

Source

Open Textbook Library

About:  “Open access textbooks which are all either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization. The library currently includes 721 textbooks, with more being added all the time.”

OER Commons - Open Textbooks

About: “From a single point of access in OER Commons, you can search, browse, and evaluate resources in OER Commons' growing collection of over 50,000 high-quality OER. Here are some curated collections to start exploring: Full university coursesInteractive mini-lessons and simulationsAdaptations of existing open workOpen TextbooksK-12 Lesson Plans, worksheets, and activities.”

BC Campus OpenEd

About:  Open Access Textbooks repository with all content available to read and download for free.

The Orange Grove: Florida’s Open Educational Resources

About: This collection offers open books and textbooks from many sources. They may also have non-restrictive licenses that allow for customization and derivative works.

Merlot Open Textbooks Collection

A free and open online community of resources designed primarily for faculty, staff and students of higher education from around the world to share their learning materials and pedagogy. MERLOT is a leading edge, user-centered, collection of peer reviewed higher education, online learning materials, catalogued by registered members and a set of faculty development support services.

GoOpenVa

About: “GoOpenVA is a collaborative initiative that enables educational entities throughout Virginia to create, share, and access openly-licensed educational resources.”

Manitoba Open Textbook Initiative

About:  “Campus Manitoba and BCcampus have partnered to build a website that allows students and faculty to browse, view, and download open textbooks for use in their courses. The textbooks in our catalogue have all been created, reviewed, or adapted by faculty at post-secondary institutions in British Columbia.”

RMIT University OER - Textbooks

About:  Listing of OER from various platforms.

Open Library Ontario

About:  “The eCampusOntario Open Library provides educators and learners with access to more than 250 free and openly-licensed educational resources.”

OpenLibra

About:  Internet platform for downloading free scientific and technical books.

LibreTexts

About:  “The LibreTexts mission is to unite students, faculty and scholars in a cooperative effort to develop an easy-to-use online platform for the construction, customization, and dissemination of open educational resources (OER) to reduce the burdens of unreasonable textbook costs to our students and society.”

Worldreader

About:  “Worldreader is a non-profit championing digital reading in underserved communities to help readers build a better world.”

OAPEN 

About: “OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.”

DOAB

About: “The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB. ”

Galileo: Open Learning Materials

About:  “GALILEO Open Learning Materials brings together open educational resources throughout the University System of Georgia, including open textbooks and ancillary materials. This repository is administrated by Affordable Learning Georgia, an initiative of GALILEO and the University System of Georgia which aims to reduce the cost of textbooks to students and contribute to their retention, progression, and graduation. ”

Source