A collection of images published on Flickr using a Creative Commons license.
Providing access to the visual collections of the Wellcome Library, which documents "2000 years of human culture" with a focus on biomedical imagery. Most images are open access, some require payment.
Search over 10,000 images from Getty Museum and Research Institute collections made available for download
Explore 894,262 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections
Free and open-licensed photos
Free icon database
Free stock photos for personal and commercial use
The internet’s source of freely-usable images.
U.S. Department of Energy
Office of Scientific and Technical Information
The materials posted here are mostly presented using Fair Use guidelines.
High-quality resources in a variety of subjects. It is aimed at high school and college level users.
Download or listen to free movies, films, and videos.
Videos for the Classroom
This collection will house videos that can be used in a flipped, blended or totally online classroom. These may be videos that Iowa teachers have found through their classroom work or videos they have developed and used in their classroom.
A shared digital video collection
Inspiring thinkers on a range of subjects present big ideas and lectures on a regular basis- completely CC licensed.
A social network of video producers. Look for a wide variety of content- some is completely open for redistribution, some is open access.
Courses and Guides
Find lectures and videos from some of the most respected instructors in the world.
Materials, mostly study skills, to support students transitioning to college.
Large library of MOOCs, some of which have material freely licensed for re-use.
Library of college-level courses from a variety of high-profile universities. Some course materials are freely licensed for reuse.
All of the learning materials presented on this site are CC licensed, but don't confuse "Learning Spaces" with the full Open University- their licensing/copyrights are different.
MOOC provider from Open Universities Australia. Some content is openly licensed.
An independent search engine that indexes open education classes from places like MIT, Yale and UMass.
Complete courses from Carnegie Mellon University