A detailed list of the Library's online databases can be found under "Our Collections" on the IADT Library website. For research in sport psychology, Academic Source Complete, PsycARTICLES, and PsycINFO are particularly valuable resources. Information about these databases is available on this page. Additionally, freely accessible databases like PubMed, offer relevant academic articles in this field. IADT Library's Discovery Search tool, (large white search box on the IADT Library Website) facilitates quick and seamless searching of the Library's online and print collections simultaneously. Further guidance on searching library collections, including login instructions, can be found in the Library's 101 Guide here. Instructional videos and screenshots are also provided on this page.
The following is a list of databases available at IADT Library of relevance to sports psychology. Databases can be searched individually under Our Collections (select online databases). Alternatively you can search across all of the Library's online and print collections simultaneously via the Library's Discovery Search.
PsycARTICLES: is a comprehensive database providing full-text access to peer-reviewed articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and affiliated organisations.. This extensive resource covers a wide range of psychological disciplines, including clinical, social, developmental, and cognitive psychology. In the context of sports psychology, PsycARTICLES offers valuable content related to mental performance, motivation, athlete behaviour, stress management, and psychological factors affecting sports performance. This database is important for students, researchers and practitioners seeking to understand the application of psychological principles to enhance athletic performance and well-being.
PsycINFO: a comprehensive database provided by the American Psychological Association (APA), is an invaluable resource for students, researchers and practitioners in various psychological disciplines, including sports psychology. With over 5 million peer-reviewed records spanning 600 years of content, PsycINFO covers a wide range of behavioural and social sciences. The database is updated twice weekly and includes research from 2,400 journals in 30 languages from 50 countries. For sports psychologists, PsycINFO offers a wealth of information on topics such as mental performance, motivation, athlete behaviour, stress management, and psychological factors affecting sports performance.
Academic Search Complete:is a comprehensive multidisciplinary database that provides extensive coverage across various academic fields. It indexes and abstracts over 13,780 journals and offers full-text access to more than 9,000 journals, with 7,850 of these being peer-reviewed. The database covers a wide range of subjects, including psychology, sociology, and sports science, making it highly relevant for sports psychology research. Its coverage spans from 1887 to the present, allowing researchers to access both historical and current literature in the field. For sports psychologists, Academic Search Complete offers valuable resources on topics such as athlete motivation, performance enhancement, and mental skills training, which are crucial aspects of sports psychology.
PubMed is a freely available biomedical and life sciences database containing over 37 million citations and abstracts, with coverage dating back to 1966 and selectively to 1809.. PubMed can be accessed here. PubMed encompasses a wide range of disciplines, including sports psychology, making it a valuable resource for students, lecturers, researchers and practitioners in this field. PubMed indexes numerous journals related to sports science, psychology, and medicine, providing access to current research on topics such as athlete motivation, performance enhancement, mental skills training, and the psychological aspects of injury recovery. PubMed's inclusion of studies on sport psychology interventions, their effectiveness, and their impact on athletic performance makes it an essential tool for evidence-based practice in sports psychology
.