Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library 101: Everything you need to get started with the Library: Databases

What is a database?

A database is a collection of online journals and resources. Companies (such as JSTOR or EBSCO) own the right to host the journals online, and the Library buys subscriptions to these databases so you can access those journal titles.

There are both general and subject-specific databases which you can use to search for your literature. Here is a link to the Library's list of databases - just click "Online Journals & Databases", and click on the name of the database you want to access.

Logging in to databases 

As each database is run by a different company, each has their own log in process. Many will automatically bring up the IADT log in screen. To log in, enter your student number as the username (e.g. N00123456) and your regular IADT password. Do not enter your email as the username. 

login as student no., password, boxes ticked

Other databases will have their own login process where the log in isn't automatically prompted - rather you will have to search for IADT from a list of institutions and enter your student number and password that way.

You will know this has been successful when a message saying something like "Access provided through Dún Laoghaire Institute of Art Design & Technology" shows up at the top of the page. A good example of this process is Project Muse, which you can see in the tab above.

Art & Architecture Source is the largest full-text art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. With strong international coverage, it offers hundreds of full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts and thousands of images.


To login to Art & Architecture Source, click this link. It is run through EBSCO so you will have to select Art & Architecture Source from a list of EBSCO databases. 

1. You will be brought to the IADT login page.

iadt login screen

2. Enter your student number, not your email address, and the password you use for everything else in IADT such as Blackboard, your email, etc. Make sure to tick the two boxes underneath so that you do not have issues with browser cookies preventing you from logging in. 

login screen showing username as student number, password as regular IADT password, and both boxes underneath ticked to clear permissions

3. You will be brought to a list of all the databases we subscribe to from EBSCO.

4. Click "Select/deselect all". 

Art & Architecture Source click deselect all

5. Scroll down until you find Art & Architecture Source, and click the box next to its name.

box ticked next to Art & Architecture Source in database list

6. Scroll back up and click the yellow "Continue" button.

screenshot of yellow continue box circled

7. You will then be brought to a search box with a banner which confirms you are searching Art & Architecture Source.

search box confirming Art & Architecture Source is the database being searched

The Bloomsbury company owns several databases which you can see in the list below. These databases provide access to rich visual artistic content from throughout history. 


To log in to Bloomsbury databases, please email infolib@iadt.ie and we will send you the username and password.

We cannot list the username and password publically online, as we have a responsibility to the publisher to ensure everyone who is given the password is a member of IADT - this is why you will have to email us for the login details.

Bloomsbury own all the databases in the list below, and so you can log in to any of these databases using the same login.

Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts

Bloomsbury Design Library

Bloomsbury Fashion Central (Berg Fashion Library)

Bloomsbury Fashion Central (Fairchild Books Library)

Drama Online

Screen Studies


Login using Bloomsbury Design Library as an example:

1. After clicking on one of the Bloomsbury databases in the list above, look for the "Log In" button on the top right of the page. 

After clicking on one of the Bloomsbury databases in the list above, look for the "Log In" button on the top right of the page. 

2. Enter the username and password provided to you over email.

2. Enter the username and password provide to your over email.

3. When you have successfully logged in, there will be a banner at the top of the page stating that you have access through IADT.

3. When you have successfully logged in, there will be a banner at the top of the page stating that you have access through IADT.

Digital Theatre Plus provides access to high-quality full length British theatre productions, interviews with cast and crew, and documentaries about the production. It includes productions from Shakespeare to contemporary plays. This database also includes opera, musical theatre, dance/ballet, symphonic and chamber music, as well as theatre from Russia and 20+ from South Asia, and film shorts. 


Off-campus access:

To access Digital Theatre Plus, click this link.

1. Click the "Sign In" button in the middle of the screen.

digital theatre plus homescreen

2. Enter your IADT email address, ending in "@iadt.ie", in the username box.

digital theatre plus login prompt

3. Search for "Dún Laoghaire Institute of Art Design and Technology" in the search box, and click the name in the results list.

digital theatre plus search for iadt from a list of institutions

3. Enter your student number, not your email addressand the password you use for everything else in IADT such as Blackboard, your email, etc. Make sure to tick the two boxes underneath so that you do not have issues with browser cookies preventing you from logging in. 

digital theatre plus enter iadt username and password

4. You know you have been successful in logging in as your email address will show on the top right of the screen.

digital theatre plus successful login with iadt banner


On-campus access:

There is no need to log in when accessing Digital Theatre Plus on-campus. Simply click this link and you will see that you are already authenticated through IADT, as shown at the top right of the screenshot below.

homepage of digital theatre plus with iadt banner

EBSCO is a company which provides access to a large umbrella of databases and journal titles. It is a good place to conduct a general search. The easiest way to do this is to use the white search bar on the Library homepage, as this searches EBSCO databases automatically. 

If you want to access an individual database, follow the steps below. We will use Art & Architecture Source as our example database. 


To login to EBSCO databases, click this link.

1. You will be brought to the IADT login page.

iadt login screen

2. Enter your student number, not your email address, and the password you use for everything else in IADT such as Blackboard, your email, etc. Make sure to tick the two boxes underneath so that you do not have issues with browser cookies preventing you from logging in. 

login screen showing username as student number, password as regular IADT password, and both boxes underneath ticked to clear permissions

3. You will be brought to a list of all the databases we subscribe to from EBSCO.

4. Click "Select/deselect all". 

Art & Architecture Source click deselect all

5. Scroll down until you find Art & Architecture Source, or which ever datbases(s) you want to search, and click the box next to its name.

box ticked next to Art & Architecture Source in database list

6. Scroll back up and click the yellow "Continue" button.

screenshot of yellow continue box circled

7. You will then be brought to a search box with a banner which confirms which database(s) you are searching which in this case is Art & Architecture Source.

search box confirming Art & Architecture Source is the database being searched

APA PsycArticles from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed landmark scholarly and scientific articles in psychology including behavioral science and related fields ranging from education, to nursing, to business, and more.


To login to APA PsycArticlesclick this link. It is run through EBSCO so you will have to select APA PsycArticles from a list of EBSCO databases. 

1. You will be brought to the IADT login page.

iadt login screen

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. Enter your student number, not your email address, and the password you use for everything else in IADT such as Blackboard, your email, etc. Make sure to tick the two boxes underneath so that you do not have issues with browser cookies preventing you from logging in. 

login screen showing username as student number, password as regular IADT password, and both boxes underneath ticked to clear permissions

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. You will be brought to a list of all the databases we subscribe to from EBSCO.

4. Click "Select/deselect all". 

Art & Architecture Source click deselect all

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5. Scroll down until you find APA PsycArticles and click the box next to its name.

list of databases with apa psycharticles ticked

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6. Scroll back up and click the yellow "Continue" button.

yellow continue button circled

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7. You will then be brought to a search box with a banner which confirms you are searching APA PsycArticles.

Film & Television Literature Index is a database of all types of writing on film and television, including academic journals, industry and trade papers, news journalism, and popular magazines. It covers a wide range of topics, such as film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.


To access Film & Television Literature Index click this link.

1. You will be brought to the IADT login page.

login screen with arrow pointing to login button

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. Enter your student number, not your email address, and the password you use for everything else in IADT such as Blackboard, your email, etc. Make sure to tick the two boxes underneath so that you do not have issues with browser cookies preventing you from logging in. 

login screen showing username as student number, password as regular IADT password, and both boxes underneath ticked to clear permissions

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. Once you have successfully logged in you will see that you are searching the Film & Television Literature Index database on EBSCO.

film and literature index successful login screen

The Financial Times is a daily newspaper printed in broadsheet and published digitally that focuses on business and economic current affairs.


1. To access the Financial Times through IADT, you first need to email us from your IADT email address and request that an account be created for you. 

2. Once you receive the email from the Financial Times inviting you to register, click the green "Get Started" button in the email.

screenshot of financial times invite email

3. You will then be invited to fill in your details in the form provided. 

screenshot of details form

4. Once you enter your details, you will be brought to the homepage of the Financial Times. 

5. You will then receive an email inviting you to set a password for your Financial Times account, which you should do immediately.

screenshot of financial times password email

6. Once you have set the password, you can log in to the Financial Times any time by clicking Log In, entering your IADT email address and the password you set. 

screenshot of financial times homepage

screenshot of financial times enter email/username box

JSTOR focuses mainly on the humanities and social sciences, and has subjects including language and literature, history, economics, and political science.

To login to JSTOR, click this link.


1. You will be brought to the IADT login page.

login screen with arrow pointing to login button

2. Enter your student number, not your email address, and the password you use for everything else in IADT such as Blackboard, your email, etc. Make sure to tick the two boxes underneath so that you do not have issues with browser cookies preventing you from logging in. 

login screen showing username as student number, password as regular IADT password, and both boxes underneath ticked to clear permissions

3. Once you have successfully logged in you will see a banner at the top of the page saying you are accessing the site through IADT.

jstor home screen with banner showing access through IADT

Kanopy is an on-demand video streaming service that provides access to a large, curated catalog of over 30,000 feature films, documentaries, and educational videos across a wide variety of subjects. It includes content from leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, PBS, BBC, and many more.


Off-campus access:

To access Kanopy, go to the Our Collections page of the Library website. Please make sure to always access Kanopy through the Our Collections page of the Library website. If you access it through Google or through a browser bookmark, the automatic authentication may not work and you may not be able to access Kanopy. 

1. Click the "LOG IN TO IADT.IE" button on the Kanopy homepage.
screenshot of kanopy homepage with login button

2. Click the orange "LOG IN TO IADT.IE" button in the centre of the next screen.
screenshot of kanopy iadt login prompt

3. A pop-up will appear showing the IADT login screen. Click the button that says "Click here to login".

iadt login screen popup

4. Enter your student number, not your email address, and the password you use for everything else in IADT such as Blackboard, your email, etc. Make sure to tick the two boxes below so that you do not have issues with cookies in your browser preventing you from logging in. 

5. You are now successfully logged in. Ignore the "Log In" button which still appears on the top right of the Kanopy homepage. You are still logged in even though this button remains visible.

kanopy homepage

On-campus access:

There is no need to log in when accessing Kanopy on-campus. Please make sure to always access Kanopy through the Our Collections page of the Library website. If you access it through Google or through a browser bookmark, the automatic authentication may not work and you may not be able to access Kanopy. 

When you click the link to Kanopy from the Our Collections page, you will be brought to the Kanopy homepage. There is no need to log in, as the system can detect you are on campus. 

If you did click "Log In", you will see that a banner appears at the top of the page stating that you have access through IADT. Therefore, there are no more steps to take to access content.

screenshot of kanopy with iadt banner on the top of the page

Kanopy is also available as an app for iPhone and Android, and the set up instructions below apply to both operating systems. 

To use the Kanopy app you will need to make a new account with Kanopy - whereas on the web browser you just sign in with your IADT credentials.


1. Search for the Kanopy app in your device's app store, and install it on to your device.

iphone screenshot of app store download button

2. Click the orange "get started" button.

screenshot of Kanopy landing page with "get started" button circled

3. Click the "Find University" button - this will give you access to what IADT has paid for, even though you need to make your own account.

screenshot of Kanopy sign up page with "find university" button circled.

4. Type "Dun Laoghaire Institute of Art Design & Technology" in to the search bar, and click on IADT in the search results.

screenshot of university search bar in Kanopy sign-up

5. Enter your personal details - make sure to use your IADT email address when signing up!

screenshot of boxes to enter personal details

6. You have now successfully signed up for the Kanopy app!

   You can browse or search ofr titles, and view your account information and settings from the bottom menu bar.

Kanopy home screen with menu bar circled

kanopy account info screenshot

7. Remember to verify your email address.

screenshot of email verification

LinkedIn Learning provides video courses taught by industry experts in software, creative, and business skills. The courses are designed for a range of learners, and suggestions are personalised to you and your industry. LinkedIn Learning courses are an on-demand service, and may be viewed online via a computer or mobile device, or downloaded and viewed offline. 

To use the courses you will first need to log in to LinkedIn, or create an account if you do not already have one.


To access LinkedIn Learning click this link.

1. Click the Sign In button on the top right of the screen. Do not click "Start my free month" in the centre of the screen. 

screenshot of LinkedIn Learning pointing to where to log in

2. Enter your IADT email address (e.g. N00123456@iadt.ie) and click "Continue"

screenshot of text box where IADT email address must be entered

3. On the next screen, click "Continue to Dún Laoghaire Institute of Art, Design and Technology".

screenshot of "continue" button

4. You will be brought to the IADT-branded login screen. Enter your student number on its own (not your email this time), and your regular IADT password. Make sure to tick the two boxes underneath so that you do not have issues with browser cookies preventing you from logging in. 

login as student no., password, boxes ticked

5. At this point you will be asked to sign in to your LinkedIn account, in order to link your learning with your profile. 

screenshot of LinkedIn asking you to log in to your profile

You can then take any of the courses on LinkedIn Learning for free, and claim certificates if needed. 

Project MUSE, a non-profit collaboration between libraries and publishers, is an online database of peer reviewed academic journals and electronic books. Project MUSE focuses on humanities and social sciences, and covers subjects such as literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, social science, and more.


To access Project Muse, click this link

1. Click "Institutional Login" on the top-left of the screen. Do not click "Log In" on the top right. 

screenshot of project muse homepage pointing to "institutional login"

2. Look to the right, where there is a section called "Institutional Login". Enter "Dun Laoghaire" in to the search box. Then click "Authenticate via Shibboleth" underneath that. 

screenshot of project muse institutional login search box

3. You will be brought to the IADT login page:

login screen with arrow pointing to login button

4. Enter your student number, not your email address, and the password you use for everything else in IADT such as Blackboard, your email, etc. Make sure to tick the two boxes underneath so that you do not have issues with browser cookies preventing you from logging in. 

iadt login screen

5. When you have successfully logged in you will get a message saying "Shibboleth authentication was successful." Click the link that says "Return to Project Muse".

project muse successful login message

 

6. You will now see a message on the top-left of the Project Muse homescreen saying "Access Provided by Dún Laoghaire Institute of Art Design & Technology". Once again, do not click the "Log In" button on the top-right. As long as the message displays showing access is provided through IADT, you have successfully logged in. 

project muse screenshot showing access is through iadt

ProQuest eBook Central provides access to authoritative ebooks in a range of subjects from the world's top publishers. Use Ebook Central to quickly and easily find relevant eBooks and chapters; read online; search within the ebook; and highlight, take notes and bookmark pages in your online copy, stored on your bookshelf for you. You can also share your research with others, download ebooks and chapters to your laptop or mobile device, and more. 

To access eBook Central, click this link

1. You will be brought to the IADT login page.

login screen with arrow pointing to login button

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. Enter your student number, not your email address, and the password you use for everything else in IADT such as Blackboard, your email, etc. Make sure to tick the two boxes underneath so that you do not have issues with browser cookies preventing you from logging in. 

login screen showing username as student number, password as regular IADT password, and both boxes underneath ticked to clear permissions

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. When you have successfully logged in you will see the eBook Central homepage.

proquest homepage with search box

NOTE: When searching, please make sure to tick the box that says "Owned and subscribed to by my library" in order to make sure that you don't see results that we do not have access to.

ebook central screenshot content box ticked

Taylor & Francis is a major global academic publisher of academic journals covering multidisciplinary topics from science, technology, engineering, medicine, humanities and social science, which are led by a global network of editors and authors. 


To access Taylor & Francis, click this link

1. You will be brought to the IADT login page:

login screen with arrow pointing to login button

2. Enter your student number, not your email address, and the password you use for everything else in IADT such as Blackboard, your email, etc. Make sure to tick the two boxes underneath so that you do not have issues with browser cookies preventing you from logging in. 

login screen showing username as student number, password as regular IADT password, and both boxes underneath ticked to clear permissions

3. When you have successfully logged in you will see a banner at the top of the page saying access is provided by IADT.

taylor and francis home screen with iadt access message

The Vogue Archive is both an essential primary source for the study of fashion and a unique record of American and international popular culture. The database will allow fashion design and photography students to find inspirational images, but will also cater for academic study.


To access the vogue archive, click this link

1. Once you click the link above, you will be brought to the IADT login page.

login screen with arrow pointing to login button

2. Enter your student number, not your email address, and the password you use for everything else in IADT such as Blackboard, your email, etc. Make sure to tick the two boxes underneath so that you do not have issues with browser cookies preventing you from logging in. 

login screen showing username as student number, password as regular IADT password, and both boxes underneath ticked to clear permissions

3. Once you have successfully logged in, you will see a banner at the top of the page saying that access is provided by IADT. 

screenshot of the vogue archive with the iadt access banner at the top

Quick tip: Bigger images

lightbulb icon with the words "quick tip"You can right click any screenshot and select "Open image in new tab" to see a bigger and clearer version of it.

Which database to use?

Your lecturer will tell you when you should be using databases, and which ones to look in.

Browsing by specific database is usually something done later in an undergraduate degree, or is done in a postgraduate degree. It is unlikely you will ever have to look at databases in the first few years of an undergraduate degree.