Library 101: Everything you need to get started with the Library: Books & DVDs

This video will walk you through searching for a print book in our catalogue, and finding it on the shelf. 

If you have any difficulty with accessing or returning items, please get in contact with us and we will be able to accommodate you.

Undergraduate students can borrow:

6 items from the main loan collection (2 week loans)

2 items from the short-loan collection (7 day loan)

2 DVDs (overnight loan)

Postgraduate students can borrow:

10 items from the main loan collection (2 week loans)

2 items from the short-loan collection (7 day loan)

2 DVDs (overnight loan)

Staff can borrow:

10 items from the main loan collection (2 week loans)

2 items from the short-loan collection (7 day loan)

2 DVDs (overnight loan)

Please note: If you do not return items to the Library on time, you will not be able to borrow until the overdue items are returned.

The Library has an extensive DVD collection available on Level 1. Each DVD can be borrowed for one week. 

To locate a DVD, you can either browse the shelves, which are arranged by genre, or you can search the print books catalogue. When searching the catalogue, limit the search to just DVDs by using the menu on the left-hand side of the catalogue, similar to what is shown for print books in this video.

IADT Library does not have fines for overdue books or DVDs.

There is a self-service kiosk on level 1, just in front of the main entrance. You can use this to check out items, return items, renew items, and see a list of items you currently have checked out. 

To borrow:

1. Select "Borrow"
2. Swipe your student card at the side of the screen - the picture should be facing away from you. 
3. Place the items you want to borrow on the flat surface of the kiosk. 
   • The machine can read multiple items at once, so you can place a few books on there at once. 
4. Make sure each item has successfully been checked out, as shown on the screen. 
5. Click "Done". 

To return:

1. Select "Return"
2. Place the items on the flat surface of the kiosk – no need to swipe your student card. 
3. Make sure they have all checked in successfully according to the list on-screen.
4. Place the returned items on the trolley to your right. 

To check your account:

1. Select "View My Account".
2. Swipe your student card at the side of the screen - the picture should be facing away from you. 
3. Select "Items Checked Out" to view what's on your account. 

To renew:

1. Select "View My Account".
2. Swipe your student card at the side of the screen - the picture should be facing away from you. 
3. Select either "Items Checked Out" or "Overdue Items"
4. Select "Renew" at the bottom of the screen. 

You may also need to find a chapter in a print book, which you can learn how to do from this video:

Books are a reliable source for information for your assignments. Depending on the subject, books can be less useful than academic journals, as they are published less frequently and so may not be as up to date. On the other hand though, they can dive deeper into a single topic at length in the way a short journal article cannot do. 

Books:

• Contain thorough, well-researched information.
• Give background and historical/contextual information.
• Contain a bibliography of other sources.
• Contain information that can be fact-checked for accuracy.
• Are published once and sometimes updated in new editions. Always try to look for the most recent edition. 

If the Library is closed, you can return books using the orange drop box we have placed outside the main Library entrance. Just drop your books in the box and we will check them in for you.