Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Referencing: Print, Online & Media Resources: Books

The following information is for print books. For e-books, see the tab above. 

APA Style

Reference: Author Last name, Initials. (Year). Title. Place of publication: Publisher.

Example: Carson, N.R. (1998). Psychology of behaviour. London: Allyn & Bacon.

In-Text-Citation

  • Author Last name (Year)    
  • (Author Last name, Year)

Example:

  • Carson (1998) argues
  • Another approach (Carson, 1998) highlighted….

Books with multiple authors follow the same pattern. 

Source: UCD Library

Harvard Style

Reference: Author/Editor Last name, Initials. (Year) Title. Edition. Place of publication: Publisher.

Example: McLeskey, J. (2013) Inclusion: effective practice for all students? 2nd edn. London: Pearson.

In-Text-Citation:

  • Author Last name (Year)
  • (Author Last name, Year)

Example:

  • According to McLeskey (2013)
  • As has been argued (McLeskey, 2013)

Source: UCD Library

MHRA Style

There are two styles of MHRA referencing - footnotes/bibliography style and author/date style. This guide covers notes/bibliography style. For more information on both types of styles please see information here from the Univeristy of St. Andrews, and here from the MHRA style guide online. 

 

Right click + open image in new tab to see a larger version. 

Source: Swansea University

MLA Style

Reference: Author Last name, First name. Title. Publisher, Year of Publication. 

Example: McDonagh, Sean. Why are we Deaf to the Cry of the Earth? Veritas, 2001.

In-Text-Citation:

  • (Author Last name Page no)
  • (Page no)

Example:

  • In another study (McDonagh 80)….
  • McDonagh has discussed (80)….

Note: In the full reference/Works Cited section, list the author's name as it appears in the work, i.e. last name and full first name or last name and initials.

Source: UCD Library

Chicago Style - NOTE

Please note that there are two style of Chicago referencing: author/date style and notes/bibliography style. This guide covers notes/bibliography style. 

Chicago Style

In-Text Citation: Use a superscript number (like this: ¹) in the text at the place where you are indicating that you are citing from a source.

Footnote: #. Author's First name Last name, Title of Book (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), page. 

Bibliography: Author’s Last name, First name. Title: Subtitle. Edition. Place of publication: Publisher, date of publication.

Examples: 

In-Text Citation: "There is a consistently high correlation between the voting patterns of parents and the eventual voting patterns of their children, as demonstrated by Miller and Hastings."²

Footnote:  2. Kathleen Thelen, How Institutions Evolve: The Political Economy of Skills in Germany (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2004), 271.

NOTE: When a source is referenced more than once on the same page a shortened form of footnote is used after the first reference, as seen below.

Second footnote: 3. Thelan, How Institutions Evolve, 271.

Bibliography: Thelen, Kathleen. How Institutions Evolve: The Political Economy of Skills in Germany. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2004.

Source: UCD Library