Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Referencing: Print, Online & Media Resources: Newspapers

APA Style

Reference: Author(s) Last name, Initials. (Year, Month Day of publication). Article title. Newspaper title. Retrieved from URL

Example: Kelly, M. (2010, May 22). Burden of Irish debt could yet eclipse that of Greece. The Irish Times. Retrieved from http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/opinion/2010/0522/1224270888132.html

In-Text-Citation:

  • Author(s) Last name (year)
  • (Author(s) Last name, year)                

Example:

  • Kelly (2010) wrote that….
  • An article (Kelly, 2010) appeared at the time….

Source: UCD Library

Reference: Author(s) Last name, Initials. (Year, Month Day of publication). Article title. Newspaper title, Volume and/or Issue number (if applicable), pp. page numbers.

Example: Dempsey, A. (2003, August 19). A shoulder to lean on in the lonely crowd: Feet on the street, a new project by the Samaritans. The Irish Times, pp. 11.

In-Text-Citation:

  • Author(s) Last name (year)
  • (Author(s) Last name, year)

Example:

  • Dempsey (2003) wrote that...
  • An article (Dempsey, 2003) appeared at the time….

Source: UCD Library

Harvard Style

Reference: Author(s) Last name, Initials. (Year) ‘Article title’, Newspaper Title, day month of publication. Available at: URL (Accessed Day Month Year).

Example: Keenan, D. (2011) 'North voters go to polls today', Irish Times, 5 May. Available at: http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2011/0505/1224296146826.html. (Accessed 5 May 2011).

In-Text-Citation:

  • Author(s) Last name (Year)
  • (Author(s)  Last name, Year)

Example:

  • Keenan (2011) reported….
  • In the report (Keenan, 2011)….

Source: UCD Library

Reference: Author(s) Last name, Initials. (Year) ‘Article title’, Newspaper Title, date, page numbers.

Example: O'Dea, W. (2006) ‘Irish role in battle group concept will help to bolster UN’, Irish Times, 10 January, p.16.

In-Text-Citation:

  • Author(s) Last name (Year)
  • (Author(s) Last name, Year)

Example:

  • O’Dea (2006) proposed….
  • The article (O’Dea, 2006) argues….

Source: UCD Library

MHRA Style

There are two styles of MHRA referencing - footnotes/bibliography style and author/date style. This guide covers notes/bibliography style. For more information on both types of styles please see information here from the Univeristy of St. Andrews, and here from the MHRA style guide online. 

Right click + open image in new tab to see a larger version. 

Source: Swansea University

MLA Style

Reference: Author's Last name, First name. "Article Title." Newspaper Title, Day Month Year of Publication, pp. Page number(s). Platform/Container, Location/Link.

Example: Parker, George. "UK Promises no Return to 'Borders of the Past' in Ireland: Brexit Vote Aftermath." Financial Times, London, 26 July 2016, pp. 2+. Proquest, www.proquest.com/stable/1234567.

In-Text-Citation

  • (Author's Last name Page no)
  • (Page no)

Example:

  • Others (Parker 2) argue....
  • Parker (2) argues....

Source: UCD Library

Reference: Author's Last name, First name. "Article Title." Newspaper Title, Day Month Year of Publication, pp. Page number(s).

Example: Gleeson, Jim. "Towards Holistic Approach to School Discipline." Irish Times, 10 Feb. 2006, p. 16. 

In-Text-Citation:

  • (Author's Last name Page no)
  • (Page no)

Example:

  • Others (Gleeson 16) argue....
  • Gleeson (16) argues....

Source: UCD Library

Chicago Style - NOTE

Please note that there are two style of Chicago referencing: author/date style and notes/bibliography style. This guide covers notes/bibliography style. 

Chicago Style

In-Text Citation: Use a superscript number (like this: ¹) in the text at the place where you are indicating that you are citing from a source.

Footnote: #. Author(s) First name Last name, “Article title,” Newspaper, Month Day, Year, Page.

Bibliography: Author(s) Last name, First name and last author First name Last name. “Article title.” Newspaper, Month Day , Year.

Examples: 

In-Text Citation: In 2006, Aer Lingus announced a five-year plan to introduce fifty new aircraft.²

Footnote:  2. Emmet Oliver, "Aer Lingus to Strengthen Fleet," Irish Times, February 10, 2006, 14.

NOTE: When a source is referenced more than once on the same page a shortened form of footnote is used after the first reference, as seen below.

Subsequent footnote: 3. Oliver, "Aer Lingus".

Bibliography: Oliver, Emmet. "Aer Lingus to Strengthen Fleet." Irish Times, February 10, 2006.

Source: UCD Library

In-Text Citation: Use a superscript number (like this: ¹) in the text at the place where you are indicating that you are citing from a source.

Footnote: #. Author(s) First Name Last name, “Article title.” Newspaper, Day Month, Year published, accessed Day Month, Year, URL.

Bibliography: Author(s) Last name, First name and last author First name Last name. “Article title.” Newspaper, Month Day, Year published. Accessed Month Day, Year. URL.

Examples: 

In-Text Citation: The Irish Times reported on May 22 that Ireland's debt could actually exceed that of Greece.²

Footnote: 2. Morgan Kelly, “Burden of Irish Debt Could Yet Eclipse that of Greece.” Irish Times, May 22, 2010, accessed May 4, 2011, http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/opinion/2010/0522/1224270888132.html.

NOTE: When a source is referenced more than once on the same page a shortened form of footnote is used after the first reference, as seen below.

Subsequent footnote: Kelly, "Burden"

Bibliography: Kelly, Morgan. “Burden of Irish Debt Could Yet Eclipse that of Greece.” Irish Times, May 22, 2010. Accessed May 4, 2011. http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/opinion/2010/0522/1224270888132.html.

Source: UCD Library