Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Referencing: Print, Online & Media Resources: Chapter in a Book

Books Intro

APA Style

Reference: Author(s) Last name, Initials. (Year). Title of chapter. In authors Initials, Last name (Ed.), Title of book (pages of chapter). Place of publication: Publisher.

Example: Beiner, R.A., (2000). Arendt and Nationalism. In D.A. Villa (Ed.), The Cambridge Companion to Hannah Arendt (pp. 44- 64). Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.

In-Text-Citation:

  • Chapter Author(s) Last name (Year)
  • (Chapter Author(s) Last name Year)

Example:

  • Beiner (2000) argues….
  • Another view (Beiner, 2000) points out….

For chapters in e-books, add in access platform and DOI, as with regular e-books. 

Source: UCD Library

Harvard Style

Reference: Chapter Author(s) Last name, Initials. (Year) 'Chapter title', in Editor(s) Last name, Initials (ed.) Title. Place of publication: Publisher, page range.

Example: Murphy, A. (2001) 'Understanding globalism through a rural locale', in O'Riordan, T. (ed.) Globalism, localism and identity. London: Earthscan, pp. 100-110.

In-Text-Citation:

  • Chapter author's Last name (Year)
  • (Chapter author's Last name, Year) 

Example:

  • This was examined in Murphy (2001)….
  • Others have examined this claim (Murphy, 2001)….

For chapters in e-books, add 'available at: URL' & ' (Downloaded: Day Month Year)'.

Source: UCD Library

MHRA Style

There are two styles of MHRA referencing - footnotes/bibliography style and author/date style. This guide covers notes/bibliography style. For more information on both types of styles please see information here from the Univeristy of St. Andrews, and here from the MHRA style guide online. 

Right click + open image in new tab to see a larger version. 

Source: Swansea University

MLA Style

Reference: Author’s Last name, First name. "Title of Chapter.” Title of Collection, edited by Editor(s) First name, Last name, Edition, Publisher, Year of Publication. Page range. 

Example: Jonson, Ben. "To the Memory of My Beloved, the Author Mr. William Shakespeare." The Norton Anthology of Poetry, edited by Alexander Allison et al., 3rd Edition, New York Norton, 1983. 239-40.

In-Text-Citation:

  • (Author(s) Last name Page no)
  • (Page no)

Example:

  • Another approach (Jonson 239)....
  • Jonson (239) writes....

For chapters in e-books, add in access platform and DOI, as with regular e-books. 

Source: UCD Library

Chicago Style - NOTE

Please note that there are two style of Chicago referencing: author/date style and notes/bibliography style. This guide covers notes/bibliography style. 

Chicago Style

In-Text Citation: Use a superscript number (like this: ¹) in the text at the place where you are indicating that you are citing from a source.

Footnote: #. First Author(s) First name Initials Last name, “Title of Chapter,” in Book Title, ed. First name Initials Last name (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of publication), Page.

Bibliography: Author(s) Last name, First name Initial(s). “Title of chapter.” In Book Title, edited by First name Last name, Pages. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication.

Examples: 

In-Text Citation: According to Elizabeth Horton's memoir When I Was a Tomboy, hanging shoes from telephone wires was a common practice in Detroit in the nineteen-twenties.²

Footnote: 2. Michael Sheringham, “Archiving,” in Restless Cities, ed. Matthew Beaumont and Gregory Dart (London: Verson, 2010), 9.

NOTE: When a source is referenced more than once on the same page a shortened form of footnote is used after the first reference, as seen below.

Second footnote: Sheringham, "Archiving", 9.

Bibliography: Sheringham, Michael. “Archiving.” In Restless Cities, edited by Matthew Beaumont and Gregory Dart, 10-24. London: Verso, 2010.

Source: UCD Library