Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Referencing: Print, Online & Media Resources: Websites

APA Style

To cite an entire website, just include the web address in the text.

In-Text-Citation:

(URL)

Example:

The Pharmaceutical Society of Ireland website provides support services for psychology and psychologists in the Republic of Ireland (https://www.psychologicalsociety.ie/)

 

Source: UCD Library

Reference: Author(s) Last name, Initials. (Year, month day; n.d. to indicate no date). Title of article. Title of web site. Retrieved from URL

Example: Gambill, G. (2011, April 6). Assad's survival strategy. Foreign Policy. Retrieved from http://www.foreignpolicy.com/articles/2011/04/06/assads_survival_strategy

In-Text-Citation:

  • Author(s) Last name (year)
  • (Author(s) Last name, year)

Example:

  • Gambill (2011) argues….
  • Another approach (Gambill, 2011) suggests….

Source: UCD Library.

Reference: Title of webpage. (Year, month day). Retrieved from url.

Example: UCD Library – Online Tutorials. (2014, February 5). Retrieved from http://www.ucd.ie/library/supporting_you/tutorials/

In-Text-Citation:

  • “Title of webpage” (Year)
  • (“Title of webpage”, Year)

Example:

  • The webpage “UCD Library – Online Tutorials” (2014) provides help….
  • There is help completing research from the UCD Library (“UCD Library – Online Tutorials,” 2014).

Source: UCD Library 

Harvard Style

Reference: Website author (Year published/Last updated) Title of internet site. Available at: URL (Accessed Day Month Year).

Example: International tourism partnership (2004). International tourism partnership. Available at: http://www.internationaltourismpartnership.org/ (Accessed 8 February 2009).

In-Text-Citation: (Website author, Year)

Example: Information available from their website (International Tourism Partnership, 2004) ….

Note: No Author? If the website author is not available, simply use the website name, e.g. (Website name, Year).

Source: UCD Library

Reference: Webpage Author(s) Last name, Initials. (Year) Page title.  Available at: URL (Accessed Day Month Year).

Example: Kelly, M. (2004) Environmental attitudes and behaviours: Ireland in comparative European perspective. Available at: http://www.ucd.ie/environ/home.htm (Accessed 8 February 2009).

In-Text-Citation:

  • Author(s) Last name (Year)
  • (Author(s) Last name, Year)

Example:

  • Kelly (2004) responded….
  • In the response (Kelly, 2004)….

Source: UCD Library

MHRA Style

There are two styles of MHRA referencing - footnotes/bibliography style and author/date style. This guide covers notes/bibliography style. For more information on both types of styles please see information here from the Univeristy of St. Andrews, and here from the MHRA style guide online. 

Right click + open image in new tab to see a larger version. 

Source: Swansea University

MLA Style

Reference: Author's Last name, First name (if available). Name of Site, Day Month Year of resource creation (if available), Link/Location.

Example: Willett, Perry. Victorian Women’s Writers Project, 16 May 2000, 

http://webapp1.dlib.indiana.edu/vwwp/welcome.do

In-Text-Citation: 

  • (Author Last name /Name of Site)

Example: 

  • According to another source (Willett)....

Source: UCD Library

Reference: Author's Last name, First name (if available). "Article Title." Website Title. Publisher of WebsiteDay Month Year of Publication. Location/Link.

Example: MacBride, Elizabeth."The super secret weapons of CEOs." BBCBBC, 14 Sept. 2011, www.bbc.com/capital/story/20150714-the-secret-weapon-of-ceos.

In-Text-Citation: 

  • Use first few words of the page title.

Example:

  •  The introspective nature of poetry may also... (The super secret weapons).

Source: UCD Library

Chicago Style - NOTE

Please note that there are two style of Chicago referencing: author/date style and notes/bibliography style. This guide covers notes/bibliography style. 

Chicago Style

In-Text Citation: Use a superscript number (like this: ¹) in the text at the place where you are indicating that you are citing from a source.

Footnote:  #. “Title of webpage," Website name, Last modified: Month day, year, URL.

Bibliography:  “Title of webpage." Website name. Last modified date, year. URL.

Examples: 

In-Text Citation: Google announced in their privacy policy that no personally identifying information was required to use their services.³

Footnote: “Google Privacy Policy,” Google, Last modified March 11, 2009, http://www.google.com/intl/en/privacy/

NOTE: When a source is referenced more than once on the same page a shortened form of footnote is used after the first reference, as seen below.

Second footnote: "Google Privacy Policy". 

Bibliography: “Google Privacy Policy.” Google. Last modified March 11, 2009. http://www.google.com/intl/en/privacy/

Source: UCD Library