Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Referencing: Print, Online & Media Resources: Podcasts

APA Style

Reference: Writer/Speaker/Producer/Creator Last name, Initial(s). (role). (Year, Month Day). Title of podcast. [Type of podcast]. Retrieved from url

Example: Moran, A. (Speaker). (2013, March 23). Prof. Aidan Moran – boredom. [Audio podcast]. Retrieved from http://www.rte.ie/radio1/podcasts/

In-Text-Citation:

  • Writer/Speaker/Producer/Creator Last name (Year)
  • (Writer/Speaker/Producer/Creator Last name, Year)

Example:

  • UCD's Professor Aidan Moran (2013) explains the processes of boredom...
  • A detailed explanation of the cognitive processes involved in become bored are explained in this podcast (Moran, 2013).

Source: UCD Library

Harvard Style

Reference: Author/Presenter Last name, Initial(s). (Year site published/updated) Title of podcast. [Podcast]. Day Month Year of podcast posted. Available at: URL [Accessed Day Month Year].

Example: Reddy, M. (2013) Hibernian hardboiled: race & gender in contemporary Irish crime fiction. [Podcast]. 24 November 2013. Available at: http://www.ucd.ie/humanities/events/podcasts/2013/irish-crime-fiction/index.html [Accessed 31 January 2014].

In-Text-Citation:

  • Author’s/Presenter’s Last name (year)
  • (Author’s/Presenter’s Last name, year)

Example:

  • Reddy (2013) outlines how Irish crime fiction…..
  • It has been argued Irish Crime fiction has strong gender typing (Reddy, 2013).

Source : UCD Library

MHRA Style

There are two styles of MHRA referencing - footnotes/bibliography style and author/date style. This guide covers notes/bibliography style. For more information on both types of styles please see information here from the Univeristy of St. Andrews, and here from the MHRA style guide online. 

Right click + open image in new tab to see a larger version. 

Source: Swansea University

MLA Style

Reference:

Last name, First name of the creator. “Title of podcast.” Title of the website, role of contributors and their First name Last name, Version, Numbers, Publisher, Publication date, URL.

Example:

“Best of Not My Job Musicians.” Wait Wait…Don’t Tell Me! from NPR, 4 June 2016, www.npr.org/podcasts/344098539/wait-wait-don-t-tell-me.

 In-Text Citation:

      (Author/ or Title)

Example:

      ("Best of Not")

Source: Utica College

Chicago Style - NOTE

Please note that there are two style of Chicago referencing: author/date style and notes/bibliography style. This guide covers notes/bibliography style. 

Chicago Style

In-Text Citation: Use a superscript number (like this: ¹) in the text at the place where you are indicating that you are citing from a source.

Footnote: Note #. "Episode/Segment Title," narrated by Narrator, Name of Program, Title of Website, Broadcast Date, URL.

Bibliography: "Episode/Segment Title." Narrated by Narrator. Name of Program. Title of Website, Broadcast Date. URL.

Examples: 

In-Text CitationUse a superscript number (like this: ¹) in the text at the place where you are indicating that you are citing from a source.

Footnote:  1. "Study in Pink," narrated by Tabz, Consulting Sherlock, QuadrupleZ, August 20, 2011, http://www.quadruplez.com/2011/08/consulting-sherlock-episode-001-study-in-pink.

NOTE: When a source is referenced more than once on the same page a shortened form of footnote is used after the first reference, as seen below.

Second footnote: 2.  "Study in Pink."

Bibliography: "Study in Pink." Narrated by Tabz. Consulting Sherlock. QuadrupleZ, August 20, 2011.
    http://www.quadruplez.com/2011/08/consulting-sherlock-episode-001-study-in-pink.

Source: West Virginia University